QUTAC - Quantum Technology & Application Consortium

We bring quantum computing to the level of large-scale industrial application and position our companies for a new digital future. Together, we want to strengthen Germany’s digital sovereignty, develop applications to market maturity and highlight opportunities for funding.

Mission

Applying quantum computing

About QUTAC

Who we are. And how we will make quantum computing commercially successful.

Read more

Our members

QUTAC brings together leading companies from Germany.

Read more

Our projects

Learn more about the quantum leaps our members are taking.

Read more
Dr. Reinhard Ploss über QUTAC
The industrialisation of quantum computing has only just begun. At QUTAC, important German companies come together to put our country and Europe at the forefront of the development of this crucial future technology.
Dr. Reinhard Ploss Chairman of the QUTAC Executive Committee & former CEO Infineon Technologies AG

News

Lilly Palackal, Quantum Algorithms Team Lead in Supply Chain Innovation, und Dr. Hans Ehm, Senior Principal Supply Chain Management bei Infineon
Quantum leaps

Infineon: Harnessing quantum computing to optimize supply chains

The semiconductor industry is characterized by its global supply chains. These are a complex network, and achieving optimal results is a challenge, even for established industry players like Infineon. With a leading position to maintain, Infineon has its sights set on one of the key technologies for the future: quantum computing.

More
Dr.-Ing. Susan Wegner, Vice President Artificial Intelligence & Data Analytics bei Lufthansa Industry Solutions
News

"For an innovation to achieve impact, it’s a question of applicability, not technological potential."

Quantum computing is still in its infancy. Nevertheless, investments that go beyond funding the further development of hardware are crucial to this phase, says Dr.-Ing. Susan Wegner, Vice President for Artificial Intelligence & Data Analytics at Lufthansa Industry Solutions. In our interview, she explains why her company joined QUTAC, how it is involved in the consortium and what digital sovereignty means to her.

More
Picture of Andreas Nawroth
Quantum leaps

Munich Re: Understanding, calculating and hedging complex risks

At Munich Re, Dr. Andreas Bayerstadler and his team are researching quantum technology applications for modern route planning. This way, they are helping to make Germany a pioneer in quantum technology – and to protect companies more intelligently against economic losses in the future.

More
Quantum leaps

BASF: How quantum computing can help develop chemical catalysts

With the help of quantum computing, BASF intends to accelerate the development of new catalysts within polymer research. To do so, it is relying on a hybrid approach - and collaboration with QUTAC.

More
News

“Only markets make the development of quantum solutions economically attractive.”

The industrialisation of quantum computing requires not only basic technology, but also a functioning market, says Dr. Andre Luckow, Head of the Department for New Technologies at BMW Group IT. In this interview, he explains how QUTAC intends to strengthen the development of industrial applications and hot the BMW Group, both within the consortium and beyond, is involved in the field of quantum computing.

More
   Quantentechnologien werden eine Reihe disruptiver Innovationen anstoßen, sagt BASF-Vorstandsvorsitzender Dr. Martin Brudermüller. Im Interview erklärt er, was wir von dieser neuen Technologie erwarten können, welche Herausforderungen bei ihrer Entwicklung bestehen – und warum genau jetzt der richtige Zeitpunkt ist, ein IndUTAC zu gründen.
News

"Quantum computing will become a key enabling technology"

Quantum technologies will trigger a series of disruptive innovations, says BASF Chairman of the Board Dr. Martin Brudermüller. In an interview, he explains what we can expect from this new technology, the challenges involved in its development and why now is exactly the right time to establish an industry consortium like QUTAC.

More
Interviewpartner Clemens Utschig-Utschig, CTO Boehringer Ingelheim. © Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co. KG.
Quantum leaps

Boehringer Ingelheim: A question of time

For the simulation of complex molecules, Boehringer Ingelheim CTO Clemens Utschig-Utschig also considers the potential of quantum computing. This way, extensive laboratory experiments may be reduced in the future – and with them the time needed to develop new drugs.

More

QUTAC Members

Details on QUTAC members

QUTAC - Quantum Technology & Application Consortium

Wir heben Quantencomputing auf die Ebene der großflächigen industriellen Anwendung und bereiten unsere Unternehmen auf eine neue digitale Zukunft vor. Gemeinsam möchten wir Deutschlands digitale Souveränität stärken, Anwendungen zur Marktreife bringen und Förderbedarf aufzeigen.

Peter Altmaier über QUTAC
Die Bundesregierung hat mit dem Konjunktur- und Zukunftspaket einen kräftigen Impuls für die Entwicklung des Quantencomputings gesetzt. In Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen und Start-ups werden wir Anwendungen identifizieren, entwickeln, erproben und teilen. Es freut mich daher sehr, dass sich in QUTAC so viele namhafte Unternehmen zusammengefunden haben, um Deutschland auf diesem wichtigen Zukunftsfeld voranzubringen.
Peter Altmaier Bundesminister für Wirtschaft und Energie
Anja Karliczek über QUTAC
Wir in Deutschland müssen bei der Quantentechnologie voran gehen, Spitze sein und dann auch Spitze bleiben. Was wir wollen ist technologische Souveränität. Und dafür müssen wir auf unsere Stärken setzen. Das sind zum einen unsere Spitzenforschenden mit ihren herausragenden Ideen, aber auf der anderen Seite auch unsere starke Industrie. Beide Seiten müssen sehr gut zusammenarbeiten. Dann kommen wir zu den besten Ergebnissen. Genau dafür gibt es das Rahmenprogramm Quantentechnologien, mit dem wir Spitzenforschung und Unternehmen fördern.
Anja Karliczek Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung
Mission

Quantencomputing zur Anwendung bringen

Über QUTAC

Wer wir sind. Und wie wir Quantencomputing wirtschaftlich erfolgreich machen werden.

Mehr erfahren

Unsere Mitglieder

Bei QUTAC kommen führende Unternehmen Deutschlands zusammen.

Mehr erfahren

Unsere Projekte

Erfahren sie mehr darüber, welche Quantensprünge unsere Mitglieder bereits gehen.

Mehr erfahren
Dr. Reinhard Ploss über QUTAC
Die Industrialisierung des Quantencomputing hat gerade erst begonnen. Bei QUTAC finden führende deutsche Unternehmen zusammen, um unser Land und Europa bei der Entwicklung dieser entscheidenden Zukunftstechnologie an die Spitze zu setzen.
Dr. Reinhard Ploss CEO Infineon Technologies AG

News

BASF-Vorstandsvorsitzender Dr. Martin Brudermüller über die Bedeutung eines Quantencomputing-Ökosystems
News

"Quantencomputing wird eine wichtige Leittechnologie werden"

Quantentechnologien werden eine Reihe disruptiver Innovationen anstoßen, sagt BASF-Vorstand Dr. Martin Brüdermüller. Im Interview erklärt er, was wir von dieser neuen Technologie erwarten können, welche Herausforderungen bei ihrer Entwicklung bestehen – und warum genau jetzt der richtige Zeitpunkt ist, ein Industriekonsortium wie QUTAC zu gründen.

Lesen
Interviewpartner Clemens Utschig-Utschig, CTO Boehringer Ingelheim. © Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co. KG.
Quantensprünge

Boehringer Ingelheim: Eine Frage der Zeit

Für die Simulation komplexer Moleküle setzt Boehringer Ingelheim CTO Clemens Utschig-Utschig auch auf die Potenziale des Quantencomputing. So sollen künftig umfangreiche Laborversuche reduziert werden – und mit ihnen die Entwicklungszeit neuer Medikamente beschleunigt werden.

Lesen
Dr. Andreas Bayerstadler, Munich RE über Quantencomputing
Quantensprünge

Munich Re: Die Suche nach dem besten Weg

Bei Munich Re nehmen Dr. Andreas Bayerstadler und sein Team die quantentechnologischen Anwendungen für eine moderne Routenplanung in den Blick. So tragen sie dazu bei, Deutschland zu einem Vorreiter in Sachen Quantentechnologie zu machen – und Unternehmen zukünftig intelligenter gegen wirtschaftliche Schäden abzusichern.

Lesen

QUTAC Mitglieder

Infos zu QUTAC Mitgliedern